Last Peaches of the Season

Last week I picked up a box full of peaches from G. W. Stroh Orchard in Angola, Indiana. They said it was the last pick of the season so, since peaches are one of my favorite fruits, I got alot of them! And they are so delicious! But now I am trying to find some things to make with peaches so that I can enjoy them while they are still fresh and juicy.

I looked around for a recipe that used ingredients I already had, and came upon a recipe for Peach-Rhubarb Crisp that sounded really good. I had some rhubarb from the garden this spring, that I had chopped up and frozen, so I had everything I needed.

In a medium bowl:
4 fresh peaches, peeled, and cut into slices.


1 C chopped frozen rhubarb
3/4 C sugar
1 1/2 T lemon juice
1/8 C flour
Stir together and pour into a 8 X 8 baking dish coated in non-stick spray

In another bowl, combine:
1/4 C uncooked quick cooking oats
1/4 C firmly packed brown sugar
1/2 C flour
1/4 C cold butter cut into small pieces
Cut the butter into the dry ingredients with a fork or pastry blender until mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Sprinkle over the fruit

Bake at 375 for 40-45 minutes or until bubbly

I tried this with whipped cream, but ice cream with it would also be wonderful! The peaches were still a little firm and the rhubarb gave it a little bit of a tart flavor. I will definitely try this recipe again!

I'd love to hear what you think!

