Apple Cheesecake Torte

With all of the great apples I have I think its time for me to try some new recipes!  I was talking about it with my mom and she suggested one her friend Karen had just brought over for her to try.  Mom raved about it so much that Karen gave her the recipe and she emailed it to me.  So here goes!

Crust:

  • 1/2 C butter
  • 1/3 C sugar
  • 1/4 t vanilla
  • 1 C flour

Cream butter, sugar and vanilla.  Blend in flour.  Spread mixture onto the bottom and 1 1/2 inches up the sides of a 9 inch springform pan.

Filling:

  • 8 oz. cream cheese
  • 1/4 C sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 t vanilla

Combine softened cream cheese and sugar.  Mix well.  Add egg and vanilla.  Mix.  Pour into pastry lined pan.

Topping:

  • 1/3 C sugar
  • 1/2 t cinnamon
  • 4 C sliced, peeled apples
  • 1/3 C slivered almonds

Combine sugar and cinnamon.  Toss apples in sugar mixture.  Arrange apples over the cream cheese layer.  Sprinkle with almonds.  Bake at 450 degrees for 10 minutes.  Reduce heat to 400 degrees and continue baking for another 25 minutes.  Loosen torte from rim of pan.  Cool.  Refrigerate.

Here it is right out of the oven!  We couldn’t wait for it to cool too much and we had to try it.  It really tasted wonderful!  The crust was like a delicious buttery cookie.  The cheesecake was creamy and the apples were still a little firm.  I think one thing I will do a little differently next time, is to toast the almonds a bit before putting them on the torte.  They tasted fine but I think toasting the almonds would bring the flavor of them out more, as well as make the torte look a little more “finished”.  Even though it baked at such a high temperature for 35 minutes, the almonds still looked uncooked.  I think having them a little “browned” would look better.  Also, it was much better after refrigerating it.  So I will be patient the next time and wait for it to cool before eating.

I’ll definitely make this again!  But I’m already planning my next apple dessert.  Stay tuned for what I pick next!

I'd love to hear what you think!

