Apple Pecan Pie Cobbler

I have always loved Southern Living magazine. I bet I started getting this magazine in the early 1980’s and have renewed it every year.  The magazine contains so many great recipes and I have also gotten many of their annual recipe books.  I’m not a southerner, I was born and raised in the midwest, but my mom is, and I grew up looking through these magazines and trying the recipes with her.  So when I had a home of my own, Southern Living was a must.

The result is when I am looking for a good recipe to try, I often go to my Southern Living Annual recipe books.  This one came from their 2004 Annual Recipes book.  I never tried this one before but thought the idea of apples and pecan pie combined sounded really good!

Apple Pecan Pie Cobbler

  • 6 large Granny Smith apples, peeled and sliced (about 3 lbs)
  • 1/2 C firmly packed light brown sugar
  • 2 T all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 C butter
  • 1/2 C dark corn syrup
  • Pecan Pie Muffin Batter (see below)

Toss together first 3 ingredients in a large bowl.

Melt butter in a large skillet over medium high heat.  Add apple mixture and corn syrup to skillet; bring to a boil and cook, stirring often, 10 minutes.  Divide hot apple mixture evenly between 6 lightly greased 6-ounce ovenproof ramekins or custard cups.  Spoon Pecan Pie Muffin Batter evenly over hot apple mixture.

Bake at 425 degrees for 15 to 20 minutes or until golden brown.

Pecan Pie Muffin Batter

  • 1 C firmly packed light brown sugar
  • 1 C chopped pecans
  • 1/2 C all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 t baking powder
  • 1/4 t salt
  • 1/2 C butter, melted
  • 2 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1 t vanilla extract

Combine first 5 ingredients in a large mixing bowl; make a well in center of mixture.  Stir together butter, eggs, and vanilla; add to dry ingredients and stir just until moistened.

Pecan Pie muffins: Spoon Pecan Pie Muffin Batter evenly into lightly greased miniature muffin pans, filling three-fourths full. Bake at 425 degrees for 8-10 minutes.  Makes 24 muffins.

I made these on Friday night and they really do taste like pecan pie!  The muffin on the top of the apples was moist and very tasty.  The batter mixed slightly with the apples underneath but they still were slightly syrupy, so it was very good!  I would definitely recommend it, especially with the holidays coming!

I'd love to hear what you think!

