Bread Baking Day!

Today was a day to make some bread the old fashioned way!  It was a blustery, windy day and my son was home for the weekend.  I really like making things to send back with him when he goes home.  So today I decided it would be some homemade bread!

I have a bread machine, but I really like making bread by hand.  I have a recipe that came from my grandmother who was an amazing cook.  The bread is slightly sweeter than other bread recipes I’ve tried.  I have so many memories of my mom making this bread for our family when I was growing up.  It was always one of our favorite things for her to make.  This recipe makes two loaves of bread so it seemed like the perfect thing to send one loaf home with my son.

Homemade Bread

  • 2 pkg dry yeast
  • 2 C warm water

add:

  • 1/2 C sugar
  • 1 1/2 t salt
  • 2 well beaten eggs

add:

  • 3 1/2 C flour
  • 4 T melted margarine
  • 3 1/2 C flour added a little at a time

Knead well.  Let rise until doubled.  Knead again and form into loaves, placing in two buttered loaf pans.  Let it rise again.

Bake 20 minutes at 425 degrees.

The finished product!

We had some slices before he left, and it was wonderful!  Light and airy with that slight sweetness that I love.

Hope you try this one!  And have a great week!

Sandy

I'd love to hear what you think!

