A Family Weekend

This weekend was amazing.  Not only was the weather an unbelievable 65 degrees, but I got to spend time with my mom and both of my brothers and their families!  I had been anticipating this for several weeks.  Ever since my brother Mike, who lives in New Hampshire had called to say he and his wife would be coming for a visit.

Usually when Mike and his family visit, they come to the lake home in Indiana.  But this time we were spending time in Ohio where we all grew up.  So of course I spent time trying to figure out what food to make, and how we would spend our time.

As it turned out, the weekend could not have worked out better or easier!  Everyone got together Friday and we had so much fun!  Reminiscing and telling stories and laughing!  I think sometimes I was in tears I was laughing so hard.  My brothers are so much fun to be with and the evening went by way too fast!

I planned for us to have some of the food that is unique to our town; that Mike probably hadn’t tasted in a long time.  So one thing we had to eat was pizza from Jac n Dos.  They make an amazing thin crust pizza that has been my favorite forever!  After that, we of course had to have an Ice Cream Crunch Bar from Dietsch’s.  Needless to say, we weren’t into “healthy eating” but it was soooooo good!

Saturday we went out to the farm my brother Bob owns.  He boards horses and has some of his own.  It was a gorgeous day to walk in his pastures, visit the horses, play with the barn kittens, and just enjoy the outdoors. 

 Then it was back to the house for lunch and more time to visit and talk.  I made a big pot of vegetable soup, and we had sandwiches.  It really was a perfect low-key meal where everyone could serve themselves.  The talk was non-stop, and the time, again, went by way too fast.

Too soon, Mike had to leave, but I will be thinking of the fun we had this weekend for a long time.

I hope everyone had a great weekend too!

Sandy

I'd love to hear what you think!

