Crocheted Winter Headband

It’s mid November and there is definitely a chill in the air!  Gone are those Indian Summer days we had at the end of October.  Mornings bring frost on the grass, and frost on windshields.  While my car is nice and cozy in the garage, the walk from the parking lot into work at 7:30 in the morning is definitely a chilly one!

I’ll be honest.  I am not really a hat person.  I almost never buy a winter coat without a hood because when it’s really cold, I want something on my head, but preferably not a hat!  But I recently was looking through a magazine and saw some cute crocheted headbands, and thought I would give one a try.  It only called for a skein of yarn, and then some scraps of assorted colors to make the attached flower.  I have a lot of leftover yarn from other projects so I thought I would try making one of the headbands to see how it turned out.

The first challenge was…  I haven’t crocheted since probably the 7th grade and I couldn’t really remember how to do it.  So I googled a few stitches, got out a crochet hook and plunged right in!

I picked a dark gray for the main headband color, and a bright pink and white, along with the gray for the accent flower.  First I made the headband part.  It took a couple of do-overs until I felt I was doing the stitches right.  Once I started the third time, within about an hour I had the headband portion finished.  It really was easy once I remembered how to do some of the basic stitches.

After the main headband was finished, I started the flower.  The challenges here were crocheting in a circle, and changing colors.  Again I googled a few “how-to’s” and came up with a pretty good-looking flower, if I do say so myself!

The final step was to attach the flower to the headband with some yarn, being careful that the stitches didn’t show on the right side.

And here’s Amy wearing the finished product!   I think it will definitely keep our ears warm this winter and I think I will like wearing this a lot more than a hat!

I’m including the pattern I used, compliments of a book of “Headwraps” from Leisure Arts, Inc. I varied the pattern slightly to make it a row thinner.  I also had to google the abbreviations in the pattern.

  • ch – chain
  • dc – double crochet
  • FPdc – Front Post double crochet
  • hdc – half double crochet
  • sc – single crochet
  • sp – space
  • st – stitch

Materials

Medium weight yarn

  • main color (gray) 1 skein
  • 10 yards outside flower color (pink)
  • 7 yards main color (gray)
  • small amount of center color (white)
  • Crochet hooks sizes I (5.5mm), and G (4mm)

Gauge: 15 st = 4″

Body

With larger size hook and Gray ch 58

Row 1: Working in back ridge only of beginning ch, sc in second ch from hook and in each ch across: (57 sc)

Row 2: (Right side): Ch 1, turn; sc in first 3 sc, skip next sc, [(sc, ch 1, sc) in next sc, skip next 2 sc] twice, [(hdc, ch 1, hdc) in next sc, skip next 2 sc] 4 times, [(dc, ch 1, dc) in next sc, skip next 2 sc] 5 times, [(hdc, ch 1, hdc) in next sc, skip next 2 sc] 4 times, (sc, ch 1, sc) in next sc, skip next 2 sc, (sc, ch 1, sc) in next sc, skip next sc, sc in last 3 sc: (40 sts and 17 ch-1 sps.

Note: Loop a short piece of yarn around any stitch to mark Row 2 as right side

Rows 3 through 10: Ch1, turn; sc in first 3 sc, skip next sc, [(sc, ch 1, sc) in next ch-1 sp, skip next 2 sts] twice, [(hdc, ch 1, hdc) in next ch-1 sp, skip next 2 sts] 4 times, [(dc, ch 1, dc) in next ch-1 sp, skip next 2 sts] 5 times, [(hdc, ch 1, hdc) in next ch-1 sp, skip next 2 sts] 4 times, (sc, ch 1, sc) in next ch-1 sp, skip next 2 sc, (sc, ch 1, sc) in next ch-1 sp, skip next sc, sc, in last 3 sc.

Row 11: Ch1, turn; slip st in first sc, sc in next 3 sc, 2 sc in next ch-1 sp, * sc in sp before next st, skip next st, 2 sc in next ch-1 sp; repeat from * across to last 4 sc, sc in next 3 sc, slip st in last sc; do not finish off: 58 sts.

First Tie End

Row 1: Ch 1, do not turn; work 7 sc evenly spaced across ends of rows

Row 2: Ch 1, turn, skip first sc, sc in next 5 sc, slip st in last sc

Row 3: Ch 1, turn; skip first sc, sc in next 3 sc, slip st in last sc

Row 4: Ch 1, turn; skip first sc, decrease, cha 18 for tie; finish off

Second Tie End

Row 1: with wrong side facing, using larger size hook, and working in ends of rows across the opposite end of Body, join gray with sc in first row; work 6 sc evenly spaces across.

Complete same as First Tie End

Flower

Rnd 1(right side) : With smaller size hook and White, ch 4, 11 dc in fourth ch from hook; join with slip st to top of beginning ch, finish off.

Note: Mark Rnd 1 as right side

Rnd 2: With right side facing, join Pink with slip st in same st as joining; ch 3 (counts as first dc, now and throughout), work FPdc around same st, (dc in next dc, work FPdc around same st) around; join with slip st to first dc, finish off.

Rnd 3: With right side facing, skip first dc and join the Gray with slip st in next FPdc; ch 4 (counts as first dc, plus ch 1), dc in same st, skip next dc, * (dc, ch 1, dc) in next FPdc, skip next dc; repeat from * around; join with slip st to first dc, finish off.

Rnf 4: With right side facing, join Pink with slip st in first ch-1 sp; ch 3, 6 dc in same sp, slip st in next ch-1 sp, (7 dc in next ch-1 sp, slip st in next ch-1 sp) around; join with slip st in first dc, finish off.

One thought on “Crocheted Winter Headband

  1. What a beautiful headbands! Thank you so much for sharing this :).

I'd love to hear what you think!

