Let the Christmas Baking Begin!

Candy Cane Christmas CakeCandy Cane Christmas Cake

December is the one month where I indulge myself with all of the cookies, cakes and candies, that I usually limit the rest of the year.  I have so many wonderful memories spent with my mom in the kitchen making cookies, candy, and cakes for our family and to share with our neighbors and friends.  So with the beginning of this month, I am going to pull out some of our favorites and share them with you!  I hope you enjoy them and maybe one or two will become family favorites of yours too.

This first recipe is for a Candy Cane sprinkled Angel food cake.  It is light, cool, and a perfect dessert for this time of year.

Ingredients:

  • Angel Food cake mix
  • 16 oz container of Cool Whip
  • Green and Red food coloring
  • White frosting (recipe to follow)
  • 6 candy canes coursely crushed

– Make the Angel Food Cake, according to package directions. Baking in an angel food cake pan.

Mix the Cake– The package said to remove the cake from the oven and invert it immediately on a bottle.  I remember when Mom and I did this there was always a Coke bottle to use, but we don’t buy Coke bottles anymore, so an empty wine bottle will have to do!

Inverted Cake– After the cake cools completely, remove from the pan.  Using a sharp serrated knife or electric knife, cut the cake horizontally twice, to make 3 relatively even cake layers. (I used an electric knife)

– Make white frosting according to the below recipe

– Separate the Cool Whip into two bowls.  Add red food coloring to one bowl and green to the other.  (I used food coloring gel and quite a bit of the color to get the green and red in my picture)   Stir well to mix coloring into the Cool Whip.

– Place the first layer of cake on the cake plate and spread the Red colored Cool Whip over the layer

Frost first layer with Red colored Cool Whip

– Place the next layer on top of the cake and spread the Green Cool Whip on top of that layer.

– Place the last layer of cake on the top and fill the middle hole with colored Cool Whip

All layers of the cake– Frost the cake with the white frosting across the top and sides

Frost the cake

– Once the cake is frosted, sprinkle crushed Candy Canes on the top.

Candy Canes on the Cake

– Keep the cake refrigerated until you are ready to serve.
The Finished Product!
I remember having this cake almost every Christmas holiday while I was growing up.  It was really a special treat for us.  And Mom and I had fun making it.  It looks fancy but it is really very simple.  The cake and cool whip are very light, the white frosting is marshmallow-y and the candy cane crunches and peppermint flavor are a really great flavor addition.
I hope you enjoy it as much as I always did!
If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to ask.
Have a great week!
Sandy
******************************************************************************
White Frosting
1 C Sugar
1/3 C Water
1 t vinegar
1 t vanilla
2 egg whites
Beat egg whites with electric mixer until they hold their shape
Beat egg whites
Boil sugar, water, and vinegar, stirring constantly, until it forms a soft ball when dropped from the end of a spoon. (honestly I have problems recognizing this, but I boil the mixture hard until I can drip the mixture off the spoon and it forms a line of sugar liquid that bounces back to the spoon)
Boil sugar mixture
Gradually pour the hot sugar mixture into the egg whites, beating constantly with a mixer on high.
After the mixture has been combined, add the vanilla and beat one more minute to mix the vanilla into the frosting.

I'd love to hear what you think!

