Mom’s Molasses Cookies

20121210-224725.jpg

At the Powell house, growing up, every special event or holiday meant lots of good food and lots of traditional recipes we would make or bake every year. Each year we would make butter cookies. These cookies are made with this old cookie press my mom had as long as I could remember. Then later, we used a cookie press from Pampered Chef, that worked really well, but didn’t make cookies in the shapes we always made. So even though we had a really nice, new cookie press, we would pull out the old one, to make trees, and camels, and wreaths, and poinsettia. There’s just something about these traditions that became important to me when I was growing up. I didn’t even know they would mean so much to me, but they do.
Another cookie my mom made for us, that I now make every year for my family are these chewy molasses cookies.  The cookies are made with ginger, cinnamon, and cloves.  They smell and taste heavenly!

Mom’s Molasses Cookies

  • 3/4 C margarine, softened
  • 1 C sugar
  • 1/4 C molasses
  • 1 egg
  • 2 C flour
  • 2 t baking soda
  • 1 t cinnamon
  • 1/2 t ground cloves
  • 1/2 t ground ginger
  • 1/2 t salt

20121210-224635.jpg

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Combine all ingredients, cover and chill for 1 hour.  Shape the dough into 1 inch balls.  Roll in granulated sugar (for Christmas I use red or green colored sugar, or for this year I used the Wilton Sparkle white sugar.)

molasses cookies before baking

Bake on parchment lined cookie sheet 8-10 minutes.  Makes about 2-3 dozen cookies.

Molasses Cookies

     You definitely need to try these cookies!  The combination of molasses and spices make a soft, chewy cookie that will be a definite hit!

Enjoy your Christmas baking!

Sandy

I'd love to hear what you think!

