Merry Christmas Everyone! (and an easy tablerunner)

   Merry Christmas!  I hope everyone had a wonderful day yesterday with family and friends!  We had a crowd here.  It was full of laughter and reminiscing about past Christmases and other past holiday events.  Some of the stories I had never heard!  It is so fun to see all the family together!

The past week I have spent so much time making food, and finishing homemade gifts and wrapping them for Christmas.  One thing I have learned about blogging, is that you need to plan ahead for these busy times.  I can’t believe it’s been at least a week and a half since I’ve last posted!  But hopefully this tablerunner will be something that may be used during the winter months and not just a holiday decoration.

I found this burlap fabric on the clearance rack at JoAnn Fabrics.  It was regularly $9.00 a yard and 70% off.  I didn’t really know what I would do with it but thought it was so neat, I was sure I could find something!  So I bought all that was left on the bolt (about 2 3/4 yards).  It cost about $12.00 for the whole thing.  The fabric, in case it isn’t clear from the picture is burlap, with an evergreen branch print on it.

I brought the material home and spent the next week or so trying to figure out what I should do with it.  Thanks to my daughter Amy, who spends a lot of time on Pinterest, we came up with the idea to do a ruffled table runner with it.  The primary inspiration for making this table runner, was to spruce up (literally!) a side table I had decorated with Byer’s Choice Carolers, that we were thinking looked a little dark and plain.

I didn’t really have a pattern, but I measured my table.  I wanted the runner to go from end to end without hanging over.  So I measured the table as 52 inches.  I decided I would like my runner to be 10 inches wide.  So it was time to get out the yard stick and start measuring and cutting the fabric.

Measuring_and_cutting_the_fabric.JPGFirst, square off the end of the fabric, by pulling a thread width-wise to be sure the cutting line will be straight.  As you can see, I had some work to do there!

Then measure 10″ X 52″ and cut carefully along the straight burlap weave.

For two slightly gathered ruffles on each end, cut 4 straight rectangles 6″ X 15″ (1 1/2 times the width of the table runner)

Finish or serge all edges of all pieces.

 

Using two rows of long gathering seams, stitch along one 15″ side of each of the ruffle pieces.  Then pull one side of the stitching to gather each piece slightly.

Lay the first gathered ruffle piece on top of the long rectangle and pin it so that the ruffle over-hangs the rectangle by about an inch or two, ensuring the gathers are even across the piece.

Sew the ruffle to the table runner.

Lay the second gathered piece about 2-3 inches away from the first seamed ruffle, pin and sew as before.

Repeat for the other side of the table runner.

   The finished runner was perfect for my display of Carolers that needed “sprucing up”!  I actually made a second one for my dining room table!  (and have additional material to spare for another craft!)

   I hope everyone had a wonderful Christmas Day!  Enjoy all of your family and friends this holiday season!

All my best!

Sandy

I'd love to hear what you think!

