Happy New Year!

It’s 2013!  I hope everyone had a wonderful holiday and the new year will be all that you are hoping for!

January in Ohio means plenty of cold weather is ahead!  Looking at the forcast for tomorrow, I see that when I leave for work it will probably be about 10 degrees out. That walk through the parking lot in the dark tomorrow morning will be a chilly one!

Luckily I found this really cute knit headband on a blog called the feisty redhead, and made a couple of them with some yarn I had sitting around.  I knit both of these in one afternoon and its a good thing, because one of them will definitely come in handy tomorrow!

First I started with a skein of Bernat Cottontots worsted weight in Lemon Berry.  It was a full skein (about 171 yds) and I wasn’t sure how much I would need, since the pattern I found didn’t really say.  The pattern calls for knitting two strands together. So I rolled the skein into a large ball, then I used that ball to roll a second one until the size of each ball was about the same.

Then I started the pattern knitting both strands together.

Needles:

  • Size 15 circular needle
  • Cable needle

Directions:

  • Cast on 13 stitches
  • Row 1 – Knit all stitches
  • Row 2 (and all even rows) – Purl all stitches
  • Row 3 – K2, slip 3 sts onto cable needle and hold in front, k3, k3 off the cable, k5
  • Row 5 – Knit all stitches
  • Row 7 – K5, slip 3 sts onto cable and hold in back, k3, k3 off the cable, k2

Repeat this pattern until the headband fits snugly on your head.  Bind off all stitches.

Seam the two ends together to form the headband.

I had my “model” aka my daugher, Amy, model this cute headband for me.  I am so thankful that she is such a good sport about trying on my latest creations!

I actually had quite a bit of yarn left after making this.  Probably not enough to make a second one, though.  But I was so excited about this cute headband and how quickly I finished it, that I started a second one.  This one I made with Yarn Bee Andes Alpaca wool (102 yds) which made it a bit bulkier, but definitely warmer.  I think that one will be my candidate for the early morning frigid temperatures!

I hope everyone has a wonderful week and Happy New Year!

Sandy

I'd love to hear what you think!

