Downton Abbey Knit Along – Part 2

The Lorna’s Laces yarn for the Downton Abbey Knit Along Project arrived on Monday this week!  Isn’t it beautiful?  I got two skeins of this yarn in order to do this project with my mom, so I couldn’t start without her.  It was so hard to look at that beautiful skein all week and let it sit!  But I did it!  And Saturday we headed to Indiana to see her, take her the yarn, and see how things were at the lake.
It’s hard to believe it is January and that there isn’t any ice on the lake at all!  I remember winters where we were buried in snow and ice by now.  But even the grass looks green!  I’m sure there will be more snowfall coming, but it was beautiful on Saturday!

Well, back to the project!  Mom and I wound each of the skeins into balls of yarn to begin.  We gathered all our supplies.  Mom has almost every knitting needle known to man!  I, of course, am still starting out, so I brought my supplies from home.  Thankfully she was there to help me answer some questions.. and we used YouTube to figure out the Crocheted Provisional Cast On.  Isn’t YouTube a great thing?  If you aren’t sure how to do a stitch, there are many examples where they show you how!

After a wonderful visit and getting started with our knitting, we headed back to Ohio Saturday night.  I worked the rest of the evening and some today to finish the Week 1 part of the pattern, in preparation for tonight’s episode.

Voila!  Here it is so far!

And just in time!  The new episode begins in about an hour.. and here are the new instructions for this week!  According to the instructions, after this week’s knitting we will have finished the arm part of the “gauntlet” and we will begin adding stitches for the thumb part.  I can’t wait to see how this turns out!

Did anyone else start this project?  The stitches have been pretty easy so far.  I consider myself probably an intermediate knitter, and this pattern I would consider a little above a basic beginner project but not too hard.  So don’t be shy!  If you want to try, the instructions are also posted on Ravelry with group chats discussing questions people might have.  I have found some of these to be very helpful as well.

Downton Abbey was great tonight!  I had to stop while working on this post, so I could watch and knit!  I hope everyone enjoyed it as much as I did!

Another_view_of_the_gauntlet_after_week_1.JPGDrop me a note to let me know what you think about this project!  I’ll finish up the 2nd part of this project in the next couple of days and let you know how it goes!

Have a wonderful week!

Sandy

2 thoughts on “Downton Abbey Knit Along – Part 2

  1. Michelle Glasgow

    My name is Michelle and I am Kodys mom. He told me about your blog so I checked it out. You are doing a great job. I have went back and read all your old ones too. I too am knitting along with the Downton Abbey knit a long. Thanks for being a friend to him.

    • Hi Michelle! Thank you so much for the kind comments about my blog. I am really enjoying it! Kody said you like to do all the same kinds of crafts that I do. We’ll have to compare notes! I’m always looking for something neat and new to do craft-wise! I really have enjoyed knowing Kody. You raised a really wonderful son!

I'd love to hear what you think!

