Winter is for Knitting!

Is there anything better on a cold winter night, than curling up on the couch, escaping reality with a good movie, while your knitting needles are clacking away on a new project?  As your project progresses it may cover your lap, keeping you warm and cozy!  I think that is why I love knitting so much this time of year.

This week, I finished a couple of new projects.  A beautiful light blue infinity scarf, with a simple but interesting pattern called Arctic Circle.  I found this pattern on The Fibre Company website.  While they have quite a few free patterns on their website, this one was available for $5.  I purchased it and downloaded the PDF file in a jiffy and was ready to knit.  For this pattern I pulled Malabrigo Merino Worsted yarn in Blue Surf, from my yarn stash.  This yarn is hand dyed and a beautiful variegated light blue color.  The pattern said it required two skeins but I only needed one of this type (about 210 yds per skein).

This pattern I would say was a beginner level pattern.  It is just a combination of knitting, purling, and something they called a “tent stitch” that was really only slipping several stitches causing the long stitch, you see above, and then picking up that stitch a few rows later and knitting it into a stitch, creating what looks like a tent.   I really enjoyed this pattern as it didn’t require a lot of concentration, so I could knit and watch a movie to my heart’s content!

My daughter convinced me to model this scarf.  It is warm, and drapes really well.  What do you think?

The second scarf pattern, I found on Pinterest and is called the Charly Infinity Scarf.  It is probably one of the simplest patterns I’ve done.  I actually used this pattern to make a scarf for my mom for Christmas (although I couldn’t talk about it then or I would have spoiled the surprise!).  This time I used Cascade Magnum yarn in Magenta, (again from my stash!) that is very thick and bulky, but very soft!

For my mom, I used a slightly lighter weight yarn and knitted the scarf long enough so that it could be doubled around her neck.  For this one, the yarn was so thick that I couldn’t imagine doubling it.  I used just one skein for this also, about 120 yards.

Needles

US #17 (straight or circular, whatever you prefer)

Instructions

Cast on 22 stitches

Row 1: (k1, p1) 3 times, knit 10, (k1, p1) 3 times

Row 2: (k1, p1) 3 times, purl 10, (k1, p1) 3 times

Repeat row 1 and 2 until you run out of yarn or have it the length you want.  Seam ends together.

How easy is that one?  You could totally get lost in a movie while knitting this one!  And can you imagine how warm it would be on your lap?  If you are a beginner, I would highly recommend this pattern as a starter scarf for you!

Well this week is supposed to reach a log of 0 (yes ZERO) and a high in the mid-teens.  Don’t you think this one will come in handy?  If I can steal it away from Amy!

If any of you try any of the scarves I mention, and have questions, I would be glad to help!  Just ask!

Happy Knitting!

Amy Pink Scarf 1-2

3 thoughts on “Winter is for Knitting!

  1. Hi, You did a great job on that cowl. It’s beautiful. I have the same pattern, and am not a novice knitter, but I am not familiar with that tent stitch. It has completely confused me. In the pattern it says;
    Rnd 4; K2, insert needle under loose strand and knit the next stitch, securing strand behind knit st, k5; rep to end.
    Insert needle under loose strand???? under where?? in front? in back?
    I’m going to try this today. But is there anyway you could clear this up for me?
    I have searched the internet and even taken the pattern to my local knit shop.
    No one seems to know what it is. lol
    Thanks for any help you may have for me.
    Joanne G.

    • Joanne, Thanks so much for the compliment! I had to try it a few times too. Maybe this will help. Here is a closeup picture of the Tent stitch.

      When you do Rnd 2, and Sl 5 as if to Purl, you are carrying the yarn across the 5 stitches. It makes a long strand on row two. Then when you get to row 4 you pick up that long strand and knit it into the middle of the 5 knit stitches. Does that make any sense? Hopefully the picture will help too!

      Take care, and I would love to see how it turns out!
      Sandy

  2. Hi Sandy, Thanks so much. I am going to try it again today. I will definitely let you know how it goes.
    I really appreciate you taking the time to help me.
    Thank you, Joanne G.

I'd love to hear what you think!

