Cranberry Banana Bread

 

What to do with a couple of over-ripe bananas and a bag of fresh cranberries?  I Googled the two and came up with a recipe for Cranberry Banana bread to try!  I don’t like to waste things.  I had gotten a bag of fresh cranberries over the Christmas holidays to bake into cookies and had never actually gotten around to it.  And while we go through bananas pretty fast at our house, I had a couple of bananas that had been sitting on the counter too long.

So I went to Google to see what I could find.  I put “Cranberry Banana” in the search box and found 3 recipes that looked promising.  I wanted a bread that would use most if not all of the cranberries I had, and both bananas.  I found this one on cooks.com that called for two cups of cranberries..  Perfect!  

 

CRANBERRY BANANA BREAD 

2 c. fresh cranberries
1/2 c. firmly packed brown sugar
1/4 c. vegetable oil
1 egg
2 egg whites
1 3/4 c. all purpose flour
2 tsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt
1 c. mashed banana
Vegetable cooking spray

 

Place cranberries in a medium saucepan. Cook, covered, over medium heat 5 minutes or until cranberries begin to pop. Uncover and remove from heat. Combine sugar and oil in a medium bowl; beat at medium speed of an electric mixer 2 minutes or until well blended. Add eggs and egg whites; beat until light and lemon colored.
Combine dry ingredients, add to creamed mixture alternately with banana, mixing well after each addition. Fold in cranberries. Pour batter into 9 x 5 x 3 inch loaf pan coated with cooking spray.
 

Bake at 350 degrees for 55 to 60 minutes or until bread tests done, shielding the last 15 minutes. Cool in pan 10 minutes; remove from pan, and let cool on a wire rack. Yield 18 servings.

 ******************
I baked my bread in 4 small loaf pans so I was able to bake at 350 for 35 minutes.
Also, I think the bread needed to be slightly sweeter, so the next time , I will probably increase the sugar to 3/4 c.
But it is so moist and very good!  The cranberries make it so tangy!
 
I froze the other 3 loaves which will be great for when we want a quick breakfast.  I love the fact that I used bananas and cranberries that I already had and didn’t end up throwing them away!

I'd love to hear what you think!

