Winter is in Full Swing in Indiana

Even though the Groundhog didn’t see his shadow last weekend, Spring has not yet arrived in North Eastern Indiana, and that’s a good thing!

What a beautiful day at the lake!  While the North East was being buried in snow (including my brother Mike and his family!), we were enjoying a really gorgeous day in Indiana.  Pat, Amy, and I went there to celebrate my Mom’s birthday, and what a really great day it was!

The sun was shining all day and the snow was melting, but the lake has iced over nearly completely by now.  It isn’t actually solid ice, although I did see a few people walking on it near the edge of the water.  Not me!  A cold wet foot through the ice was not in my plans for the day!

We decided to take Mom to lunch at Potawatomi Inn.  This is a lodge that is located inside Pokagon State Park in northeastern Indiana, and right on the lake.  This time of year it is filled with visitors who come to enjoy the snow and the toboggan “run” that is located in the park.  Even though there wasn’t a lot of snow on the ground, there were so many people there to sled.

After lunch we walked around the lodge and checked out the toboggan run.  The lodge has a real homey feel.  They have lots of sitting areas with fireplaces, where families were doing puzzles, playing games, and having snacks.  I also saw people sitting on an enclosed sun porch, reading.

As we were leaving the inn, I saw lots of families with all their snow gear heading out to enjoy the afternoon.  They were wearing boots, hats, snow pants, and big, warm coats.  We decided to walk up the hill to the toboggan run to check that out.  It was packed with sledders!

People waited in line for their turn at the top of the run.  There are usually 3-5 people per sled and two “tracks”.  So the line moves fairly quickly.  And what a beautiful day to be outside!  Later, we followed the toboggan track almost to the end.  It really is pretty long!

I remember when I was a student at Trine University (about 5 miles from here), we would come to toboggan with a group of friends, on weekend nights.  It is really fun after dark with the lights on the snow!  There is a small lodge near the start of the toboggan run where we would warm up by a fire with a hot drink.  Those are such great memories!  But today it was all about sunshine and blue sky!

After our lunch we spent the afternoon at the lake house.  Pat did some computer repair work, Amy spent some time on Pinterest (she is my daughter after all!), and Mom and I wound yarn for the Truckee Shawlette Knit Along project that we are starting.

We have enjoyed doing the Downton Abbey knit along project so much that we decided to keep the party going!  For this new project we are both using Malabrigo Lace Superwash yarn.  It calls for two colors each, that will be used to make a striped pattern in the shawlette.  I am using Deja Vu and Cumparista, that are colors of maroon, beige, and olive-green.  Mom is using Blue Surf and Tuareg that are a light blue and a beautiful royal blue.  Anyway, now that we have our yarn, we plan to get started this week.  I actually knitted a bit of it tonight when I got home from our visit.  It’s very small at this point, but I am anxious to see how it looks as it grows!

The day was gorgeous!  I loved spending it with my Mom and celebrating her special day!

Tomorrow is another wonderful day.  I plan to make the most of it, how about you?

Sandy

3 thoughts on “Winter is in Full Swing in Indiana

  1. Lovely blog. I’m a new follower form Italy!!! Kisses

  2. […] ago and since yesterday wasn’t as pretty I didn’t take any pictures, but here are pictures from two years ago!  I also found this cool YouTube of  the toboggan run to share (thanks to CLP Marketing, […]

I'd love to hear what you think!

