Chicken Stir Fry on a Cold Day

Is it really March?  Mother Nature was threatening to dump up to 6-9 inches of snow on us yesterday and I woke up this morning to some ice and about an inch of snow.  Of course the ice meant a lot of school delays and closings, but it was off to work for me!  (Carefully though!)

Tonight when I came home, a warm dinner at home sounded like the perfect thing.  So I looked in my fridge to see what I might have and decided to do a chicken stir fry.  This recipe isn’t really a set-in-stone recipe.  I kind of know what I need to do to make it, but I usually just put together whatever vegetables I have on hand.  Tonight, looking in the pantry and the refrigerator, I collected:

  • 1 large frozen, boneless chicken breast, thawed and sliced
  • 1/2 green pepper (chopped)
  • 1/2 medium onion (chopped)
  • 3 stalks of celery (sliced)
  • 1 C (or so) fresh mushrooms
  • 1 C fresh broccoli separated into small florets
  • 1-2 C fresh bean sprouts – I don’t always have these on hand but I had seen some fresh ones this weekend and thought I might want to do a stir fry this week, so I bought them.  
  • 1 can bamboo shoots
  • 1 can sliced water chestnuts
I love working in the kitchen.  Its such a stress reliever for me to do something so completely different than what I do at work.  I can “create” this meal with whatever I think sounds like it would be good together.  Other ingredients I sometimes use is Napa Cabbage, Pea Pods, Green Onions.  I sometimes used canned, mushrooms or canned bean sprouts, but I had fresh this time.  So I spent about a half hour assembling, cleaning, and chopping the ingredients. 
 
After I had finished that, I started some rice, following the instructions on the box.  I have never used instant rice.. so what I have, takes a little longer and that’s why I start it first.  That way I can concentrate on my stir fry without worrying about stopping and doing the rice in the middle.
 
I put a little oil in my stir fry pan.  Then added 
  • 1 t minced garlic
  • sliced chicken breast
I stir and cook that until the chicken is done.  About 5 minutes.
Add other ingredients to the stir fry according to your preference.  I usually add the crunchier ingredients first, and usually add the softer ingredients last.  
 
I love bean sprouts.  And I like for them to be a little less cooked, so I usually add them last.
 
Then I add 
  • 1/2 C  Chicken broth
Stir and cook until the vegetables are crisp-tender.
 
Mix together 
  • 1/2 C Chicken broth
  • about 2 T Cornstarch 
Pour into the stir fry and cook until thickened.
  • Add salt and pepper to taste
Serve over rice and sprinkle with rice noodles.  Add soy sauce to taste if desired.
 
And here it is.. A warm one-pot dinner, made with the vegetables I had on hand, and one chicken breast.  It probably took about an hour from start to finish and my family loves it. What I made probably would have served 5.  But with only three of us, we will have some leftover for lunch!
 
Now I’m ready for a nap! 🙂
I hope everyone is having a good week! 
Sandy

2 thoughts on “Chicken Stir Fry on a Cold Day

  1. Kathryn Powell

    Comfort food

I'd love to hear what you think!

