Ready to Spring Forward!

Tonight is the long awaited (at least for me!) night where we set our clocks ahead 1 hour and tomorrow we will wake up to Daylight Savings Time!  While the next few, early work mornings, will be tough, those long evenings will be appreciated right away!

I remember growing up, and going to the lake every weekend in the summer.  At the time, Ohio had daylight savings time, while Indiana, where we went to the lake, did not.  So even though we spent our weekends in Indiana, we continued to live by daylight savings time.  I can’t tell you how many conversations we had that involved phrases like “my time”, “your time”, “Ohio time”, or “Indiana time”.  At a very young age, I had grasped the concept of this time change and it seemed like a really bad deal to me.  The main problem with it was that my Fort Wayne friends could stay out to play a whole hour later than I could!  I remember we’d be in the middle of a hide and seek game (in the dark! So fun!) with our friends and it never failed that my parents would be calling my brothers and me in to go to bed!  And our friends still could stay out and play!  Needless to say, I was not a fan of daylight savings time, then.

But that has all changed.  Now as someone who works all day, I LOVE having that extra hour of daylight.  It’s also made so much easier, because Indiana now goes to daylight savings time too.  So now I can completely forget about “translating” time across state lines!

In preparation for this event, today I put away all of my winter decorations and pulled out spring ones!  I still had evergreen type greenery in baskets around the house.  They were banished to the basement, until next year!

Out came the florals, and brighter colors.  I have some potpourri that I saved in a ZipLoc bag from last year.  I put some new scented oil in the bag a couple of days ago, and let it soak in.  Today I replace my old pine type potpourri with the “re-cycled” potpourri and the house is smelling wonderfully Springy!  And I am loving the colors in the house now, too!  Yellows, blues, and pinks are everywhere!!

After I finished all of this switching, Amy and I went out shopping. One of her best friends is getting married in May and the wedding shower is next weekend, so we went out to find a cute shower gift.  It was so nice to be out in the warm sunshine WITHOUT A WINTER COAT! The temperature got to about 50 today!   I really think Spring is finally coming!

Tonight I will work on my knitting.  The Truckee Shawlette is taking longer than I thought it would.  I still have at least 30 rows left to knit and they are LLLOOOONNNGGG rows.  I really had hoped to begin my own Knit Along at the end of this month, but I think I will postpone it for a month.  There are just too many other projects I am working on right now and I really want to continue those.  I hope that’s OK with everyone.  I promise we will still do it!

Tomorrow I will wake up to the first big step toward Spring.  And I will be changing clocks all over the house!  But I will be smiling, because the Winter, while not officially over, is over as far as I’m, concerned!

So for those of you who will be “Springing Forward” like I will be, tonight.  Sleep well.  Tomorrow will be an hour shorter, but the added hour of evening daylight will be worth it!

How do you feel about Daylight Savings Time?  Do you like it?  I know a lot of people don’t.

See you in the morning!

Sandy

One thought on “Ready to Spring Forward!

  1. Hey mom! You are an amazing blogger, so I nominated you for the Liebster Award!!! Check out my blog to see what you need to do!!! Love you!!

I'd love to hear what you think!

