Birthday Cake? No Thanks… I’ll Have Strawberry Pie!

Ever since my kids were young, they have never been fans of cake.  I think it’s not so much that they don’t like cake, they just don’t really like all of the frosting.  In years past we’ve had “Birthday Brownies”, Cream Cheese Pound Cake with Strawberries,  and Ice Cream cakes, but really never had traditional birthday cakes for either Amy or Tommy.

So this year when I asked Amy what cake she’d like for her birthday, she told me she would really rather have a strawberry pie!  That was alright by me!  I love strawberry pie!  And the recipe I have for it is so simple, I thought I’d share it.  Spring is coming and this is a perfect Spring or Summer dessert.  I know we sure enjoyed it tonight!

Strawberry Pie

  • 1 refrigerated pie crust
  • 1 regular sized box of strawberry jello
  • 1 C sugar
  • 4 T cornstarch
  • 2 C warm water
  • 1 1/2 Quarts fresh strawberries
  • Whipped cream (we use Redi-Whip)

 Prepare and bake pie crust according to instructions.  Cool.

In a saucepan, combine Jello mix, sugar, cornstarch, and water.  Bring to a boil, stirring until thickened.

Clean strawberries, and slice if desired.  I left my strawberries whole for the above pie.

Pour the thickened strawberry jello mixture over the strawberries.  Stir to coat.  Pour the strawberries into the baked pie crust.

Refrigerate until ready to serve.  Slice and top with whipped cream.

Enjoy!

This pie was delicious, and we sure enjoyed our day celebrating Amy’s birthday!  It may have been cold and misty/rainy outside but we still had a great day!

I hope everyone is having a great weekend!

Sandy

I'd love to hear what you think!

