Pound Cake Cupcakes (Inspired by Southern Living)

Last week I opened my mailbox to the new April Issue of Southern Living.  The cupcakes on the cover really caught my eye!  Aren’t they beautiful?  Then I read they were pound cakes..  šŸ™‚  Well at that point they had me.  šŸ™‚

Looking inside, they had the pound cake recipe as well as instructions for using ready-made fondant for the frosting and flowers.  While beautiful, I don’t have fondant, and my family is not a big fan of frosting anyway so it got me thinking…

Most years for my birthday, my mom makes me this delicious cream cheese pound cake for my birthday.  We usually cut the slices and have it with fresh strawberries and whipped cream.  It has been my favorite for years.. but I was thinking.. why not use that recipe and make cupcakes from that????  Then decorate with fresh strawberries and whipped cream…

Sounds like the perfect Easter dinner dessert!  So yesterday afternoon I made them using my mom’s cream cheese pound cake recipe, altering it just for the oven temperature and cooking time.

[yumprint-recipe id=’4′] 

The cupcakes came out so moist and golden.  We peeled off the paper and put individual cakes on each plate.  Topped with strawberries and whipped cream, and they were a hit!

Another plus is that, since they were individual cupcakes, I was easily able to send some back to Cincinnati with my son, Tommy!

Thanks for visiting!

Sandy

I'd love to hear what you think!

