Mystery Knit Along.. Mystery Solved!

It is done… Two skeins of beautiful Lorna’s Laces Haymarket yarn and five mystery clues and now I know. :0)  It is a winter hood/cowl that will be wonderful in the cold weather (which is hopefully MONTHS AWAY!)  I guess the Game of Thrones theme of “Winter is Coming” was appropriate!

I apologize for not modeling it myself, but it has been in the mid to upper 70’s the last few days, and I’ve been wearing short sleeves and shorts.  I just couldn’t imagine putting on winter clothes just to make this look right.  I took a picture of it with my coral summer shirt and I just couldn’t post that!  YIKES!  Luckily my main winter coat is gray wool so that will look really nice (SEVERAL MONTHS FROM NOW!  PLEASE!).  Here is the last clue for the Mystery KAL and it contains several pictures of the finished product.

I haven’t blocked the lace on the bottom yet, but I kind of like this more condensed lace pattern.  When they were describing the lace, the pattern designers at Jimmy Beans Wool, described it as looking somewhat like chain mail (appropriate to the Game of Thrones theme).

Of course my kids are laughing.  Amy said it looks like something Queen Amidala would wear.  Tommy said it looked like something an Ewok would wear!  (Where did all the Star Wars references come from?  We honestly haven’t watched those movies in years!)

I really do think it’s pretty.  The yarn is gorgeous, and the drape of the piece is so nice.  I think I will be glad I have it next Fall.  But for now, it will probably go to my closet for a good six months!

At the same time that I have been knitting this, I’ve been reading Game of Thrones.  It is really good.  As I’ve said before, I read all kinds of books.  This one borders fantasy and medieval.  The book’s chapters jump back and forth among the main characters.  Some you admire, and some you don’t really like that much.  But it definitely contains lots of adventure and intrigue.  I think one of my favorite characters so far is Jon Snow who has just taken the oath of the Black Watch.  While he is young now, you can tell he is going to become one of the most intelligent, honorable, and caring characters.  I also like Arya Stark, the young girl who is not really “girly”, but is smart, and brave.  

If any of you are watching the show on HBO or reading these books, do you have a favorite character? 

Anyway, I am so happy with how this cowl turned out.  I guess I thought all along it might be something like this, but I got really confused when the clue indicated we would be doing lace.  I guess I pictured the piece being knitted from the bottom to the top, so the lace at the top really threw me.  All I needed to do was turn the piece upside down, and it then made sense!

And a big thank you to Kristen at Jimmy Beans Wool for this Mystery Knit Along!  My mom and I enjoy these so much, and I have learned some new techniques, specifically short rows.  I never had done these before!

  

So what do you think?  A Keeper?  You won’t hurt my feelings… my kids are already laughing!

Have a GREAT Friday!

Sandy 

5 thoughts on “Mystery Knit Along.. Mystery Solved!

  1. So it was a cowl after all… very pretty โค The lace tog with short rows had me stumped. Yes, let’s just hope it’s AT LEAST another 6 months before next year’s very short winter, when you’ll enjoy wearing it with your gray wool coat!!! … Oh, and we’re wearing shorts here finally too ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Sandy – It IS really pretty!!! I love the colors – hope you post a pic with you wearing it IN SIX MONTHS or so!!
    ๐Ÿ˜‰
    patty

    • Thanks Patty! I do love the colors too! And I know I’ll be wearing it next winter (AT LEAST SIX MONTHS FROM NOW!)

  3. I love it and the color you used s perfect! I still need to sew on buttons for mine and like it quite a lot ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thanks Tina! I hope you’ll let me see yours too! I do love the color. It makes me want to go back and see if I could order more of that color for a scarf!

I'd love to hear what you think!

