TGIF! Happy Memorial Day Weekend!

Thank goodness it’s Friday!  This week seemed to drag on forever!  But it’s finally the weekend, and a LONG weekend at that!

Yesterday I got a note in the mail that there was a registered package for me at the Post Office.  So today I stopped over there at lunch and GUESS WHAT?  My friend Maryanne at Woolhogs sent me some gorgeous yarn as a prize in a giveaway she had a few weeks ago!  Imagine my surprise to first, receive a package from South Africa!  And then to open in and see this gorgeous yarn!

Thank you so much Maryanne!  I can’t wait to do something with it.  I’ll definitely be posting my decision and finished project.

For now, I am packing and off to the lake for this marvelous long weekend!  it is supposed to be a bit cool (high in the 60’s) but sunny the whole time!  I expect boat rides, yard work, great food, and lots of fun with my family!  Both of my kids will be there and when we are all together there are always a LOT of laughs!

I’m packing my Kindle (of course), and my latest knitting project.  I loved my last Truckee Shawlette so much I got some more spring colored yarn and I’m making another one!  What do you think?

The lightweight yarn is just perfect for knitting with this time of year.  I am using Malabrigo Lace Superwash Solis and Water Green.  I love the color combination and this one shows the stripes much more than my previous one.  So that is probably my primary project for the weekend.  

I am also bringing some other DK weight yarn just in case I want to start my first knit bunny.  I just bought these two bunny patterns from Little Cotton Rabbits.  I have admired Julie’s knit animal toys for months and she just recently decided to sell the patterns.  Well I was ecstatic and rushed to buy her first two.  So needless to say I am VERY excited to try my first one!  I’m not sure I will start this weekend but I am bringing it just in case!

On my Kindle, I am reading The Inn at Rose Harbor by Debbie Macomber.  I am flying through it and it is so good!  In the summer I love to read light, sentimental books (Good beach/lake reading!)  This one is about a woman who opens an Inn around Puget Sound.. and guess what? In her free time she loves to KNIT!  And has multiple projects going at any one time!  I think I can identify with that!  Anyway, I am enjoying it and already queueing up the next book!  It is good to be prepared on these long weekends!  Ha! ha! 

The main thing I am looking forward to, though, is spending time at the lake with my family!  

I hope everyone else is geared up for a great weekend!

Sandy

 

3 thoughts on “TGIF! Happy Memorial Day Weekend!

  1. Sandy, Happy Memorial Day Weekend! Sound like wonderful boating weather and I hope you have plenty of time to read and knit 🙂

  2. love those colors – they are definitely lake colors.

  3. Congrats on your wool winnings! Hope you had a wonderful weekend at the lake ❤

I'd love to hear what you think!

