A Weekend Wedding!

Source

June is the month for weddings.  I have always heard that.  And I’ve seen it too.  Since growing up, our family spent all of our summer weekends at the lake, and June weddings often meant missing our lake weekend.  So I remember them well.  I guess it makes sense that June would be a good month to have a wedding.  In Ohio, June is the first month you can count on pretty warm and sunny weather… at least most of the time.

This morning we had rain, but right now the sky is blue and it is so sunny… and we are going to a wedding.  And not just any wedding.  This is the marriage of my daughter Amy’s, best friend.  It is hard to believe that these girls are now at the age to be starting their lives as married women.  

I suppose I should be getting used to it.  Three of my son’s best friends are now married, and this will be the third of my daughter’s friends.  But I can’t help being nostalgic when I think of it.

Amy and Angie (the bride today) have been friends since the 2nd grade.  They’ve lived just across the street from each other, and were even roommates in college.  I think you could say they are as close as sisters.  And living so close, I’ve watched Angie grow up as if she were my daughter.  Amy and Angie2

I remember the days the she would run across the street (Angie would rather run than walk any day!) right in our front door and straight up to Amy’s room.  There they would laugh at the fun things they had done or seen, console each other in times of heartache, or make plans for their next great adventure.  Angie was always the one who planned birthday surprises for Amy that sometimes involved cute gifts left at our front door.  She has such a big heart and Amy has been blessed to have her as a friend.

Amy and Angie Graduation

So today, Angie will become a married woman.  And Amy will be her maid of honor.  Where did the time go?  How can my daughter be old enough to have so many married friends?  How can I be old enough to have a daughter old enough to have so many married friends? (Ha!) Sometimes I wish I could go back in time and they would be the little girls giggling up in Amy’s room.        

But this is life, and this is what is meant to be.

Today, I will probably have a few tears as I watch my daughter’s best friend walk down the aisle.  But they will be happy tears!

One thought on “A Weekend Wedding!

  1. Awe… so sweet ❤ Congrats to the newlyweds!

I'd love to hear what you think!

