A Father’s Day Treat!

Happy Father’s Day to all the wonderful fathers out there!  Especially to my guy who has made the last 18 years so great!  He deserves to be spoiled today!

So with that in mind, I decided to make one of his favorite pies… Fresh rhubarb!  Last weekend when we went to the lake, Mom had a bunch of fresh rhubarb that I brought home just for this purpose! šŸ™‚  

My mom usually makes this pie for him, using a recipe from an old book that my grandmother had.  This book was actually published in 1930 and from the looks of it, was used a lot!  I know she was known to be a really good cook, and I know my family LOVES the rhubarb pie recipe, so I copied it down and brought it home!

This recipe is so simple!

I washed and chopped the rhubarb.  

Combine it with flour, 1 egg, and sugar…  Lots of sugar.. (but soooo good!)

Put the rhubarb mixture in the pie crust (okay.. I cheated and used store-bought!!  But a girl can only do so much! šŸ™‚ )

Cover with the second crust, brush with milk and sprinkle with sugar, then bake!  

Really so easy!

 

I can’t wait until we have this tonight!   (Maybe with a scoop or two of vanilla ice cream!)  I am sure it will be a hit with everyone at our house!

[yumprint-recipe id=’1′]

What are you doing for Father’s Day?  I hope it’s a memorable one for all those Father’s out there who do so much for their families every day!

I'd love to hear what you think!

