Busy Summer! But Not Too Busy For A Re-fashion Project!

I’m sure most of you think I may have fallen off the face of the earth!  I realize I’ve been pretty quiet recently.  I’m so sorry! My summer is going really well!  Bear is on the mend.  He still favors his leg but he is getting better.   He took his first real boat ride today, and actually played with another dog that wandered into the yard.  He also seems to be losing some of his fear of the floor so I am thinking a few rugs will be disappearing in the next day or so.. (hallelujah!)

We have been busy this summer!  With work all week, going to the lake for the weekends, and attending several weddings of some of my daughter’s dearest friends, the time has just flown by!  I have had time to work on a few small projects, though.  One was a re-fashion of a bathing suit my daughter bought from Target earlier this spring for 24.99.

Isn’t it a cute suit?  Well, it was a wonderful deal, but when Amy tried it on, she just didn’t like the style.  But the color was so cute on her she really didn’t want to send it back.  She thought maybe the style would “grow on her”.  Well it didn’t.  And a couple of months went by with this suit sitting in her dresser, unworn. 

About two weeks ago she came to me and asked if there was any way I could make this suit into  a two-piece.  Well, I’ve been sewing since I was 12 and I think there is very little that I am afraid of trying.  So I first made sure she was OK with me working on this with no guarantees that she would like it when I was done.  She gave me the “green light” to try.  

This bathing suit  style made it pretty easy to turn into a two piece.  The back of the suit was already finished the way it would need to be.  The only change I needed to make was to the front of the suit.

  • First, I used my stitch ripper to remove the hem on the curved sides of the suit.  The suit was lined in white so there were actually two layers of fabric, and sewn into the hem was elastic that I salvaged for use in the new hems I was going to make.
  • I also made sure I ripped enough hem along the bathing suit “bottom” to allow me to merge the new hem I was going to make, with the old.
  • Next I cut the center piece out of the suit allowing a 1/4″ hem on both the top and bottom.
  • I was able to salvage enough elastic from the parts I was removing, to use in the top and about 1/2 of the bottom of the suit.  So I did need to pull a bit of elastic from my sewing supplies to make up the difference.
  • With the suit now separated, I pinned the elastic to the inside raw edge of both the top and bottom, pulling to make a slight gather.  I then sewed the elastic to the raw edge with a zig-zag stitch.
  • I folded the hem down and machine hemmed it to match the hem that already existed in the back.
  • Finally I crossed my fingers as Amy tried it on…

She loves it!  She wore it during her most recent trip to Texas, and was thrilled with the new style!  I’m so glad it worked out and fit her so well!  (of course she was NOT going to model it for me! 🙂 )

Does anyone else like to re-fashion old or unused clothes?  It is such a feeling of accomplishment to take an unused piece of clothing and redesign it into something you’d like.

Hope all is well with everyone!  Now I’m off to read some of your wonderful blogs and get caught up!

Sandy

 

   

 

4 thoughts on “Busy Summer! But Not Too Busy For A Re-fashion Project!

  1. I absolutely love how this adorable two piece came out. When I first saw it on Amy I thought “oh wow that is cute where did she buy it?” so creative. Great work ! Have a great week 🙂

    Renee

    • Thanks Renee! I was so happy that it turned out so well! It is a little nerve wracking to cut into a perfectly good piece of clothing, but she wasn’t going to wear it the way it was anyway! After the first cut, it gets easier! 😉

  2. Sandy, you are SO talented! And yes, it totally gets easier after the first cut ❤

    • Hey thanks! I am so relieved it turned out well for her! It definitely felt crazy to cut the store price tag off and then take the scissors to it! 🙂

I'd love to hear what you think!

