“Catching Up” After A Great Week!

Relaxing

Beautiful

Family

Full of Fun

Breathing Deeply

Trying new things

These are just a few of the ways I can describe the last week!  Tommy and I were up every morning fishing, and sometimes we went out in the evening too.  In the mornings, it was cool.  I think one morning it was about 48 degrees when we went out!  I wore so many layers!  I was definitely no fashionista!  I found what was warm and wore it!  Then as the weather warmed up I could get rid of some of the layers.

Tommy and I did some really low-tech fishing.  The boat we fish in is from the 1950’s.  We’ve had it since before I can remember.  The motor is a little newer… maybe late 1960’s.  Ha ha.  And we were fishing with bobbers and worms!  Tommy usually fishes for bass using lures, but this week he did some old-fashioned blue gill fishing with me.   

 

It was so fun!  Before this summer, I probably hadn’t fished in 20 years.  But I’m so glad I decided to do it again.  🙂

Look at some of the gorgeous views I had this week!

Sometimes our “catches” were not too big!  (definitely NOT a KEEPER!)

Oh!  And what would a morning at the lake be, without a Tom’s Donut?  

This is a Lake James landmark that makes probably the best donut I’ve ever had!

 

Afternoons when it was warmer, we would boat and swim.  The lake is a little cooler, but still very nice for swimming.  I am hoping I will have a few more weekends to swim before the water is too cold!  

Here’s a spot where we swam one afternoon!

Evenings we did more fishing, but went a bit more high-tech!  We took out the speed boat.  And we took Pat with us!  He would laugh at our efforts to cast into the perfect fishing spot to catch the most fish!  We definitely showed him a few of our favorite spots!   

We caught enough for a fish dinner, and we caught enough fish for about four more fish-fry dinners!  They are stored in the freezer for use to enjoy this winter! 

I enjoyed the last week so much!  It was just the break I needed!  I feel so much more rested and re-charged, but I’ll be looking forward to getting back up there very soon!  

 

 Do you have a place where you go to rest and recharge your batteries?


Have a wonderful week!

Sandy

4 thoughts on ““Catching Up” After A Great Week!

  1. this looks like a wonderful retreat!

    • Thanks! It really is! We’ve been going there all my life so it really feels like home.. but way better because I leave my work behind! 🙂

  2. Such a pretty place to spend a week doing all the things that you love. Can’t ask for much more than that!

    • Thanks Ann! It was a bit cooler than normal, but honestly, it was probably better. It if would have been really hot, all I would have done was swim! I sure wanted to stay longer! 🙂

I'd love to hear what you think!

