Cherry Crumble Squares – Reinvented!

 

Cherry_Crumble_Squares.JPG 

I’ve been wanting to make these wonderful bar cookies for such a long time!  Probably 10 years or more!  Does that seem really strange?  If I like them why haven’t I made them in so long???

Well the truth is, this is a recipe my mom cut out of her Good Housekeeping magazine probably in the early 1970’s.  

 

She was always looking through her magazines and tearing out recipes to try.  That’s how it was done before you could Google recipes on the internet.  To get some new recipes, you either got them from friends, cut them out of magazines, or bought a cookbook.  My mom had stacks of magazine recipes.  Being a stay-at-home mom, we would come home from school and dinner would be already started.  We tried a lot of new recipes.  Some we didn’t like too well, but some of them became treasured family favorites.   

This recipe for Cherry Crumble Squares is one of those favorites.  It is such a simple recipe.  Yellow cake mix, a little butter, eggs, Cherry Pie filling, and Coconut Pecan Frosting mix.  But wait…  Here’s the problem and the reason I haven’t made it in about 10 years!  They no longer make Coconut Pecan Frosting mix!  And they haven’t in about 10 years!  (See the problem?)

Sure, you can buy a can of Coconut Pecan Frosting…  but that just won’t work.. I need something crumbly.

Thank goodness for Google!  A couple of days ago, I decided to look for recipes for a Coconut Pecan Streusel.. Hopefully that will be a good substitute for the frosting mix.  I thought I’d give it a try! 

Here’s what I found:

Streusel
1/4 cup flour
1/4 cup brown sugar
2 TB. butter softened
1/3 cup flaked coconut
1 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 cup chopped pecans or walnuts

I took the cinnamon out.  This was part of a recipe for a coffee cake so I didn’t think I wanted cinnamon with my cherries.  Other than that, I pretty much used this.  I didn’t really measure the pecans or the coconut, but probably put about this much in.

I put it all together and baked in the oven and it looks so yummy!  I couldn’t even wait for it to cool completely before i had to try it!  I am so glad I decided to re-invent this recipe!   

Has this happened to you?  That you find something you like in the stores, only to have it be discontinued?  It seems to have happened in our family a lot!  Do you remember Bundt Cakes?  They used to have a Butterscotch one that we LOVED.  Next think we knew, it was no longer being sold.  After the success of these Cherry Crumble Squares, I am definitely going to look for a replacement for Butterscotch Bundt cake!

 Thanks for stopping by!

Sandy

[yumprint-recipe id=’2′] 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Cherry Crumble Squares – Reinvented!

  1. Yay Sandy! This one is one of my favorites too! Thanks for doing the work of finding a substitute. Butterscotch bundt cake??? How have I never heard of that one? Xoxo

    • I know! It is so great to think we can make that again! As far as the bundt cake… There were two that were our favorites. The butterscotch swirl bundt cake and the Chocolate Macaroon one. I definitely need to figure out how to make those! And after the success of this one, you can bet I’ll be looking! 🙂

  2. I love this recipe!!! So glad to see you reinvented it! I am going to give it a try for sure. I originally got this recipe from a friend at work over 25 years ago. Thanks!

  3. Sounds delicious! ❤

I'd love to hear what you think!

