New Foxy Friends

A couple of weeks ago, I took a road trip to New Hampshire to visit my brother and his family.  When I take trips in the car, I always pack projects to work on and books to read.  At home there is always another load of laundry to do, dinner to make, or errands to run.  So I see trips in the car and an opportunity to get some good quality time for my projects or reading books. This trip was no exception.  I packed yarn for a new fox pattern that I was knitting, and I also loaded up my Kindle with a few light reading books.  I was ready for anything!

So all the way out to New Hampshire and all the way back, I either had my knitting needles clacking away, or my nose in a book!  This is so typical of me.  Even when I was growing up, family trips in the car usually meant I had my nose in a book the whole way and my dad would tell me, “San, we are driving through such beautiful country and you are missing it all!”  I am so thankful for my Kindle now, because I used to have to save lots of room in my suitcase for all of the books I would bring!

I sure enjoyed my visit with my family, and I loved getting so much knitting done!  

I finished the girl fox during the trip and started on the boy fox as soon as I got home!  I got the head and body finished on the boy and started the first leg.  Then last Friday night, I settled down to work on my knitting and pulled out the needles and somehow my knitting needle had BROKEN!  I was so disappointed!  So first thing Saturday morning, I was out to the stores to try to find a size 2.5 knitting needle!  Mind you, I live in a rather small town and don’t really have a good knitting store here.  So, of course, there wasn’t a needle of that size anywhere in town!  

I had to go to Plan B…. I went online and ordered TWO needles of that size (one for backup! Always be prepared.. I learned my lesson!) and switched to knitting the boy’s sweater, since it used a different size needle.  I wanted to make the boy’s sweater coordinate with my girl, so I thought a plaid or argyle style would work well.  I figured that I knew the number of stitches in the front of the sweater and could somehow graph the argyle.

I found a cool iPad app that let me graph the argyle pattern! It’s called DesignKNIT by Core Computing Technologies.  With it I was able to easily graph my argyle pattern and save it as a PDF file.

Then, because I didn’t have the knitting needle to finish the fox body, I started knitting the sweater. πŸ™‚

Well, my 2.5 needles finally arrived, and after finishing the sweater, I was able to finish the rest of my fox, seam it, stuff it, and put it all together.  It turned out so cute, and I LOVE my knitted foxes!  (I’ve decided to name them Francine and Ferdinand,) They turned out in perfect Fall colors!  

Now what to do next?  I know with Christmas coming, I will definitely be doing some Christmas-themed animals.  But before that I will probably do some other project.  I’m just not sure what it will be!  I’m sure you’ll know soon enough!

What kinds of projects do you do during road trips? 

Hope you are having a wonderful week!

Sandy

5 thoughts on “New Foxy Friends

  1. So cute, Sandy! I totally ❀ this foxy couple … you are so talented πŸ™‚

  2. Hi Sandy…So great that you’ve entered the Made It challenge!! Oh my goodness, your foxy creatures are adorable – the patterns looks far too complicated for me, I’m super impressed. xxx

    • Thank you! πŸ™‚ The patterns are definitely detailed, but really aren’t that hard! But thank you for the compliment!

  3. Your story about the reading and knitting during long trips is totally my own. Complete with early years with piles of books and now just the kindle :-))). Only difference: I would add crocheting to the activities.
    I love your foxes! They are so cute. I once knitted a bunny designed by the same woman (little cotton rabits). She’s so talented!
    Warm greetings from Holland :))

    • Thank you! I just love the animals Julie, at Little Cotton Rabbits, makes! They are so cute. I am just finishing a third bunny now! I’m glad to find someone as obsessed with reading as I am! Aren’t Kindles the best invention? πŸ™‚
      Have a wonderful day!

I'd love to hear what you think!

