Thank You Veterans!

 

source

Today is Veteran’s Day.  A day all of us should take time to honor and thank all of the men and women who have served our country to protect the freedoms that many of us take for granted.  I am proud to say that my dad and my father-in-law were both veterans.  My dad was a veteran of the Army and my father-in-law served in the Marines.  I am so proud of both of them, and appreciate their bravery and the sacrifices they made, leaving family and friends when they were stationed overseas.  I don’t think I ever thanked them or told them how proud I was of them, often enough. 

Today, at my daughter’s school, they will be honoring veterans with a lunch and school program that will be put on by the students.  All of the teachers signed up to bring in some of the food, so yesterday we spent a lot of time planning, buying, and making the food she was going to bring.  

We both love baking and spending time in the kitchen so it was definitely a fun day for us!   We are also crazy for Christmas, so we put in some Christmas DVD’s, watched movies and baked all afternoon!  Amy found this great CopyCat recipe for Starbuck’s Cranberry Bliss Bar cookies.

.  They looked amazing so, while she made one for her school lunch, I made another one for us!

The Cranberry Bliss bars are so delicious!  I am glad she is taking such a delicious treat to her school tomorrow. 

I hope everyone has an opportunity today to thank a veteran.  I also hope that the people who visit my daughter’s school have a wonderful time and enjoy their lunch and the entertainment the children have planned for them!

Happy Veteran’s Day!

Sandy

[yumprint-recipe id=’3′] 

One thought on “Thank You Veterans!

  1. That recipe sounds delicious! ❤

I'd love to hear what you think!

