Winter Is A Time for Scarves

I don’t know about you, but to me, winter is all about the scarves!  I have at least two dozen scarves…  Silky ones, hand knit ones, bulky knit ones, and cotton ones.   Some are infinity scarves, the circular ones that slip over your head, and some are long rectangles that can be worn in many different ways.

For some reason, having something wrapped around my neck just keeps me warmer in the winter.  Maybe there is scientific evidence that your blood is closer to your skin on your neck (sort of like your wrists and feet) and warming those areas just make you feel warmer.  I should check that out… but for now, I think I will just appreciate how they make me feel.  Something about wearing scarves sure makes me warmer, and I don’t think its my imagination!

Besides keeping me warmer, I also like the fact that I don’t have to worry about jewelry when I have a scarf.  It adds color and interest to my outfit, it’s a warm accessory!

And last but not least…. I can knit and sew scarves!  It fulfills my need to keep myself busy with knitting and sewing.  This fall, my daughter bought gray and white polka dot infinity scarf.  One look at it and I knew I could make a few of these very easily.  It was just a long loop of fabric that was twisted once.

I measured her scarf and determined if I bought two yards of fabric, I would have enough to make two scarves.  What a great idea for a gift for friends and family!

I bought several wonderful patterns of cotton fabric that cost about $5 – $6 a yard, and washed and dried it so it would be softer and more flexible.

 

Then I folded the fabric in half lengthwise and measured to 65 inches long.  I used a ruler to mark a straight line width-wise at the 65 inch mark.

First I cut the fabric along the straight line.  Then I cut the fabric at the fold line, lengthwise.

I now had two lengths of fabric, 65 inches long and about 20-22 inches wide. 

Taking one length of fabric, with right sides together, I folded the fabric length-wise and sewed it together. 

Then I turned it right side out and pressed the seam.

After all of it is pressed, I laid it out on a flat surface and twisted it one time.

 Then I brought the ends together to form a twisted loop.  With right sides together, I pinned as much as possible of the ends.  Next I stitched the pinned sections together, leaving a small gap that would be stitched together later, by hand.

I pressed the stitched ends flat, and tucked the unstitched edges under and pressed that flat, as well.  

Finally I stitched the gap together, pulling the stitching tight so that it won’t show on the finished scarf.

I then pressed the scarf to make it really smooth.   

Voila!  The finished scarf!  Honestly, if you didn’t count the time it took to take the pictures for this blog, this scarf took less than an hour to make! And now I will have a bunch of new scarves as well as others to give as gifts!

I hope you are enjoying doing some crafty things while the weather is so cold!  If you want to try a scarf or two and have any questions, I’d be happy to help!

Most of all, stay warm and healthy!

Happy 2014!

Sandy

 

One thought on “Winter Is A Time for Scarves

  1. Hey Sandy, your sewn scarf is great! Funny how I’ve always automatically thought “knit” when it comes to scarves/cowls—but fabric is fab 🙂 I knit my first cowl several years ago (because the whole world was/is crazy for cowls), but never “got” the whole scarf thing… Until this winter, when I finally started wearing it fairly constantly! My computer is in our unfinished basement and having something wrapped snugly around the neck makes all the difference in body temperature when it’s -40ºC/F outside! Now I can finally see why you love scarves ❤

I'd love to hear what you think!

