What Was I Thinking???

What was I thinking???  I put this plate up on my wall in a haze of contentment after a wonderful Christmas holiday.  The first flakes of snow had fallen and covered everything in a blanket of whiteness.  It was beautiful and I loved looking out at the smooth, untouched snow.

Fast forward about 45 days..  Hmmm…  I think I’ve had enough!  And this plate is going to be put away!  Do you think that it make any difference or possibly mean a break in this weather?  I sure hope so!

We spent the weekend visiting the lake in Indiana.  Due to the weather we hadn’t been there since before Christmas!  Wow.. what a lot of snow there!  It has transformed the beautiful blue water to a frozen white.  It is so quiet.  Like everything is hibernating and waiting for Spring.

 

This is more snow than we’ve had in about 15-20 years!  Hard to believe we will walk barefoot in that yard in a few months, and go swimming and boating in that frozen lake!  

We had such a nice visit!  Mom and I were able to compare our knitting projects.  We are both doing the Jimmy Beans Wool, Downton Abbey Mystery Knit along, hosted on the Jimmy Beans Wool blog and also on Ravelry.  We started a bit late (about 3 weeks late to be exact) and have been doing a lot of knitting to catch up!  I think we are both about ready to start the Week #4 clue.  That means we still have two weeks of catching up to do!  I hope we make it before the Knit along is over!

We know that it will be a shawl when we are finished, but the patterns of the knitting are the “mystery part” this time.  I’ve had a lot of fun seeing each new set of rows reveal another pattern.  And the Lorna’s Laces Honor yarn is so soft and warm!  It is a perfect project to have on your lap as the temperatures dip below zero!

The whole shawl, so far, has increased to about 500 stitches for a row.  I really love the colors and the feel of this yarn.  But knitting a couple of rows now takes a really long time!

Here is a sample of some of the patterns in the shawl.

 

 

 

I can’t wait to see how it turns out!  It’s hard to tell at this point because it is all bunched up on the needle, but in the mean time, it is really keeping me warm on these cold days, just working on it!

I hope everyone is having a good week.  Are there any projects keeping you warm this winter?

Take Care!

Sandy

5 thoughts on “What Was I Thinking???

  1. Yes, please take that plate down and pack it away tightly!

    Glad you got to the lake, it looks pretty – different from other photos you have shared, though!

    Can’t wait to see the finished shawl!

    • It is already down! And today the sun is shining… I honestly can’t wait for 30 degree weather! It will feel like Spring!

  2. LoL Sandy, you’re snow funny πŸ™‚ 45 days is indeed more than enough time to stare at the snow! Around here, we’re running over 90 days… and counting 😦 But the thaw will soon have you kicking off flip flops and diving into that lake! πŸ™‚ ❀

    • I know, I know Jackie! I shouldn’t complain… You have way more snow and snow days than I do… but I am just NOT a winter person! πŸ™‚ I am sure looking forward to the day the lake is warm enough to swim in again!

I'd love to hear what you think!

