Downton Abbey Shawl is Finished!

I finished the Downton Abbey Mystery Knit Along project just last night, after watching the latest episode of the show.  This knit along was a little different from the ones I have participated in before.  I knew ahead of time it was going to be a shawl, the mystery is the different patterns that were knitted into the shawl.

To start, I purchased two skeins of Lorna’s Laces Honor yarn in the color Bated Breath.  Isn’t it pretty???  It has gorgeous turquoise, purple, taupe, gray, and blue.  And it is so soft!  I really enjoyed trying the new stitches and seeing how they looked in this beautiful yarn.

The thing is, I ran out of yarn before the pattern was finished.  There were actually 12 more rows of knitting to the pattern, but I ran out of yarn, so I just bound off.  Do I regret it?  No way! I think it is perfect.  I finished the shawl with garter stitching (knitting every row) just as it started.  So for me, the shawl finished at the right place in the pattern.

I can just imagine wrapping myself up in this soft coziness during these cold days!  It will definitely keep me warm!  (Which isn’t such a bad thing, as we have about 4 inches of the white stuff falling as I write this!)

Don’t I look a lot warmer?  I sure think I do! 

I can’t wait to see how my mom’s shawl turned out.  I think she was running out of yarn also, so we will see where she ends up! 

Take care!

Sandy

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Downton Abbey Shawl is Finished!

  1. That is beautiful, Sandy !

    • Thank you! I love the colors in the yarn and the patterns. It is so fun to try these knit alongs because you learn all kinds of stitches you haven’t tried before! Mom and I really enjoy doing these together. 🙂

  2. The colour looks lovely on you, Sandy 🙂 And how appropriate, to be watching the show whilst knitting its namesake shawl… TV knitting to the max! ❤

    • Thanks Jackie! I love how soft it is, too.. I think there are only 1-2 more episodes this season so next week I will snuggle in my shawl while watching! 🙂

      • And with this mystery solved, will you be knitting anything for the final episodes? I’ve never seen the show, but know it has a ton of knitting fans 🙂 ❤

  3. Looks wonderful! you will stay warm this winter with this cozy shawl

I'd love to hear what you think!

