September Mystery Knit Along – Better Late than Never!

Battenburg Scarf 2

In August, I was randomly browsing though Facebook and saw that Craftsy was having a September Mystery Knit Along.  I hadn’t done a Knit Along for a while and they said it was going to be a shawl so I thought, “Why Not?”  It might be a nice break from animal knitting!

Craftsy Mystery Knit Along

So I called Mom and asked her if she wanted to do it with me and of course she said “YES!” (We just love doing knitting projects together!)  So I ordered the yarn and pattern which arrived pretty quickly.  The shawl pattern is Battenburg Scarf by Pam Powers knits. 

But then… I wanted to make the witch for mom in time for Halloween and I wanted to finish that in plenty of time for her to display it, so I set this aside until I finished the little witch.

After that, we both started our shawls.. I just finished mine yesterday.  (Better late than never!)  But just in time for 35 degree weather today and it is keeping my neck nice and toasty!

The yarn I used was Madelinetosh Tosh DK which has a really nice drape.  The pattern called for 25 pattern repeats but I only used one skein so only had enough yarn for 20, but that was plenty long.  I love the green color, too.  I also didn’t block it quite as much as the pattern picture shows.  I like the zig-zag, and scalloped patterns and texture of the shawl a lot, but I didn’t really want the lace knitting to be quite so open and airy.  (I live in Ohio!  I like warmth and density!)

Battenburg Scarf Pattern Battenburg Scarf

I love doing these knit alongs.  They often teach me new knitting stitches or new ways to get a really pretty knit pattern.  And in a knit along forum you can ask questions if you don’t understand or benefit from other participants’ questions or comments.

Mom is still working on her scarf, but I’ll post a picture of it on my Facebook page when she finishes hers!  Hers is a cream color with flecks of bright color!  Should be gorgeous as well!

Lace Shawl

I’ll be looking for my next knit along to do after Christmas.  Would anyone want to do it with me? (I know Mom will!)

 

2 thoughts on “September Mystery Knit Along – Better Late than Never!

  1. Love the scarf, it will come in handy when it gets colder.

I'd love to hear what you think!

