A Sunday Perfect for Nesting!

Sunday morning I woke up to frost on the ground, and 27 degree weather.  A really clear, beautiful, but cold day.  For me, those days (if I’m not going to work!) are days for baking, knitting, reading, and doing jigsaw puzzles.

On days like this I gather all of my crafts, and books around me in what could best be described as a “nest”.  I have knitting beside me, my kindle nearby for reading, and my iPad for looking up recipes.   Then, by the fireplace, I have a table that I have lovingly named the “puzzle table”.  (Yes I actually bought a table just for puzzles!)

Puzzles

I love doing puzzles!  I remember doing puzzles as a child, those heavyweight cardboard ones that fit into a sort of frame.  I would do them over and over.  Then as I got older we did larger puzzles on a card table in our living room.  I spent hours sitting there piecing them together.  We didn’t glue them or frame them when we were done, we just took them apart, and put them away for a year or two and then did them again.  After a couple of years they were like new puzzles anyway!

Besides the puzzle, today I worked on my latest scarf a bit. I just started it Saturday and it is coming along nicely!  A simple pattern that caught my eye a few months ago, that has been sitting in my basket waiting to be knit up.

 New Scarf

And picked out the yarn for my next animal…  What do you think?  I am thinking a Christmas themed pair of mice. 🙂

Next Animal 

And then I was in the mood to bake some pumpkin bread. 

 Ultimate Pumpkin Bread

On Pinterest I found this recipe for “Ultimate Pumpkin Bread” that looked really good.  It was described to be better than Starbuck’s Pumpkin Bread.  Well, I have never had Starbuck’s Pumpkin Bread (we don’t have a Starbuck’s in our town), but I am thinking it must be good.  So I thought I’d give it a try.  It sure didn’t disappoint!  I made it in small loaf pans so I could freeze several for later, but I did try one.  Yuuummmmm!  Here is the recipe if you’d like to try it.

[yumprint-recipe id=’8′] 

Do any of you have nesting days?  What do you like to do?

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “A Sunday Perfect for Nesting!

  1. you sure do many things, never a dull moment !
    love the little mouse! the bread sounds wonderful.

I'd love to hear what you think!

