What a fun day!

Today my daughter and I went to a baby shower for one of her best friends.  What an exciting time, and what a pretty mom-to-be!   It’s hard to believe these girls, who have been friends since elementary/middle school are getting married!  Let alone becoming mothers!  But it is so wonderful to see the friendship between these girls and how it has lasted through different colleges, and living sometimes far apart. 

Girls at the Baby Shower

For the baby shower I wanted to make something special for this sweet girl who has been my daughter’s friend for so long.  So I searched Pinterest and Ravelry for just the right thing.  I found the “Lucy Top” and loved the sweet look of it.  But I thought the bottom seemed a bit plain.  So I looked further.  In the mean time I ordered some Cascade Aran Cherub yarn from Jimmy Beans Wool, in a beautiful turquoise color.  It is machine washable and dryable which I thought should be required for baby clothes.  Wow!  It was so soft when it came, I couldn’t wait to get started.  But I was still searching for inspiration for a more “interesting” skirt part of the little dress. 

Finally, as I was looking through Ravelry for ideas, I found the Muti Dress by Taiga Hilliard Designs.  The yarn for this pattern calls for a finer weight than I was using, but I saw that the zigzag pattern required the stitch count to be a factor of 10, so I increased on the sides until I had enough stitches on my needle to start the Muti pattern. 

I love the result!  Such a cute dress!  And I had enough yarn leftover to make a darling headband to match!

Baby Dress

Baby Dress - Back

I will definitely make this dress again!  I think it was the perfect shower gift! I know I sure loved making it and giving it!

 

 

3 thoughts on “What a fun day!

  1. What a pretty dress! Great job,Sandy!

  2. awe Sandy… Your chosen lace pattern is perfect for this super-sweet baby dress! 🙂 ♥ ❤

  3. […] I have been busy knitting a few sizes of the really cute dress I made for that baby shower earlier this summer.  I am listing them on my Etsy Shop […]

I'd love to hear what you think!

