I’m Starting Something New!

Sunflower Dress - Front

Today I listed some new items on my Etsy shop, Handmade at the Lake.  Anyone who knows me knows that while I love to knit, sewing has always been one of my favorite things to do. 

I was first introduced to sewing (as most kids back in the day 🙂 ) during Home Economics class in junior high school.  As I remember, I made pillow cases (Yes.. very challenging!) But that summer, my mom enrolled me in a sewing class at our local Singer Sewing store.  There I really learned a lot about sewing and made a really cute skirt and peplum top. We even had a “fashion show” when the class was over where we modeled our finished items!  Later that summer, I also was enrolled in a “stretch and sew” class where I made several other clothing items.  Even a bathing suit!  I think Mom was trying to give me things to do that summer but she actually gave me much more! She gave me a hobby I still enjoy to this day!

Over the years I took quilting classes, and fabric applique classes too.  I made many sets of curtains, pillows, tablecloths, maternity clothes, holiday dresses for my daughter, and even dance costumes for her whole dance class!

Now that my daughter’s friends are getting married and starting their families, I have started to become interested in sewing baby clothes.  They are just so cute and fun to make! I love the prints and choosing cute color combinations! 

My first items have been listed in my Etsy shop.  They are 4 sizes (3, 6-9, 12, & 18 months) of a darling reversible baby girl’s jumper.  On one side it is a sunflower print and on the other side, a black and white gingham check with a pumpkin applique that is perfect for Fall.

Pumpkin Reverse Side

Next I will be making some cute boy’s overalls! 

I hope everyone has a wonderful week!

 

I'd love to hear what you think!

